English Federation for Correspondence Chess

The ICCF National Federation for England

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Visit Facebook Page
  • Visit Twitter Page

Yorkshire win Ward-Higgs!

 In the County & District Correspondence Chess Championships, the Yorkshire A team have won the 2013/14 Ward-Higgs (Division One) competition and are confirmed as County & District Champions! Congratulations to Phill Beckett & his team. The team crosstable can be seen here: http://www.bfcc-online.org.uk/cdccc/ward-higgs  with (by scrolling down on that page), the full list of teams & pairings. The games can be viewed here: http://www.iccf.com/event?id=40069


Funeral of Malcolm Peltz

Malcolm's funeral will take place on Friday 18th July at 15.30 at Milton Keynes Crematorium. All are welcome. 


British CC 960 (Fischer Random) Championship

There is a new British CC Championship in Chess 960 (or Fischer Random chess). It is been organised by Phill Beckett in co-operation with the Welsh CC Federation. It will be played on the ICCF webserver & the Entry Fee is £5.00 paid via the Welsh CCF. For full details see here:- http://www.welshccf.org.uk/2014/05/first-british-chess960-correspondence.html   


List of EFCC Patrons

The following is a list of Patrons of the EFCC as at 01/09/2016:-


D W Anderton; LGM Jill Barber; I Wes Bell; Mickey Blake; Jonathan D Bourne; R J Braunton; GM John G Brookes; GM Ian S Brooks; R Brownsord; GM D M Bryson; Eoin Campbell; IM Duncan Chambers;  SIM C R Chandler; Colin Cheek; IM Julian Corfield; Nicholas J Cron; SIM Andrew Dearnley; T Dootson; Leslie Eastoe; Derek Gallimore; Peter C Gibbs; C S Grant; P F Habershon; GM Richard V M Hall; David C Jarrett; GM Maurice W Johnson; LGM Mary E Jones; Peter Keffler; GM David A Kilgour; IA Neil Limbert; GM Peter R Markland; S J McGavigan; GM Peter J Millican; Garry S Monger; Peter S Morton; GM A Muir; GM Jonathan Penrose; Richard Perrin; SIM Ian M Pheby; Peter S Phillips; C R Pope; GM Nigel E Povah; GM Michael Prizant; SIM Alan J C Rawlings; SIM John D Rhodes; GM Keith B Richardson; P C Robertson; GM Nigel E Robson; R J M Selfe; Anthony Slinger; M B Squires; IM Janos I Suto; R B Talmadge; John B Taylor; IM John Toothill; J T Walker; SIM John Wharam; Jo Wharrier; T J Wheeler; Stephen M Williams; Michael W Wills; David G. Woodruff.


Rev Bruce Carlin; Sean Clark; IM William F Lumley; Ian J Mason; SIM Ajoy Mukherjee; Kenneth J Owen; Arthur Ryder; Brian Thompson; Richard Ward; David Weldon.




Last Updated ( Thursday, 01 September 2016 12:32 )

Ian Pheby wins British Veterans Championship

Ian Pheby has won the 16th British Veterans Championship with a score of 7/10 - well played Ian! The full crosstable can be seen here: http://www.iccf.com/event?id=39914 . Trevor Rooms finished in 2nd place half a point behind. This is Ian's 2nd victory in this event as he was also joint winner in 2011/12.

This season saw the last time of the Veterans Championship as a Postal event. From now onwards, this tournament will be a webserver event and BFCC has high hopes that the number of entries will increase significantly because of this change. So, if you are 60 years of age or older (as at 1 September 2014), please consider entering! You can enter online at this website (see Tournament Entry" in the left hand Menu) or, if you are a BCCA member, you can enter via your BCCA membership renewal.


Andrew Dearnley awarded Senior International Master (SIM) Title!

Andrew Dearnley has been awarded the ICCF Senior International Master (SIM) Title to add to the IM Title he earned earlier this year. His first SIM Norm was achieved in the "35 Years of Correspondence Chess in Cuba Anniversary" Tournament 2007-2009. See: http://www.iccf.com/event?id=11889  His 2nd SIM Norm has just been achieved in the "BFCC Golden Jubilee B" tournament where Andrew has finished 3rd overall. See:- http://www.iccf.com/event?id=32136  

Well played Andrew!


2014/15 Season - Tournament Entry now Open!

Entries are now being taken for the 2014/15 Championships: the British Championship (BCCC) £10.00, The British Veterans Championship (BVCCC) £8.00, and the British Ladies Championship (BLCCC) £7.00. All tournaments now webserver!

BCCA members can enter via their own Renewal form or BCCA website. Non-BCCA members can enter online at this website (see Online Fee Payment in the left-hand menu). See http://www.bfcc-online.org.uk/tournament-entry for last date of entry for each tournament. All tournaments will start in September/October.

Last Updated ( Saturday, 28 June 2014 07:53 )

Malcolm Peltz

We were sorry to hear of the recent death of Malcolm Peltz, a former BPCF Secretary and Information Circular editor. BFCC extends its condolences to his friends and family.

More Articles


EFCC Games Database

Guide to Correspondence Chess

This document, written by Neil Limbert, is an excellent introduction to correspondence chess for new players; download it from here.

Online Fee Payment

The form below is provided for you to make an online payment for tournament entries or membership subscriptions. Please put your name and the event entered, or other reference (e.g. 'new membership' or 'membership renewal') in the text field.

Tourney Ref or Other

Shredder Daily Puzzle